Ros Schwartz/Arcadia – translation special

You have to feel empathy with a book to translate it well.

From First Page to Last

Today I am pleased to share a fantastic interview with translator Ros Schwartz and Karen Sullivan from the publishers Arcadia who discuss the fabulous and often unsung work done by translators who help introduce us all to the wonderful world of foreign language fiction.

Ros – What process do you go through when you first receive a manuscript for translation?

I read it and decide whether it’s right for me. You have to feel empathy with a book to translate it well. Once I decide to accept the job, I start thinking about the specific challenges, which are different for each book. These questions are constantly in the back of my mind and I ponder them while swimming lengths, standing in the queue at the Post Office or sitting on a bus.

Ros – How much direct input do you have with the author? Is it a constant flow of…

View original post 1,619 more words

